Misano GP Race

Administrator 25 Nov, 2021


Quartararo crowned Champion, Marc Marquez wins

From pole position, Bagnaia got a decent getaway but it was teammate Jack Miller who got the best launch from the front row. Pecco grabbed the holeshot though as Miguel Oliveira carved his way into P2 from the second row. Miller grabbed P2 from Oliveira at Turn 4 though, with Marc Marquez then getting the better of Oliveira down into Turn 8. Quartararo didn’t make a rapid start, but more importantly, he stayed trouble-free.  

The top three of Pecco, Miller and Marc Marquez soon found themselves 1.3s clear of Pol Espargaro, who had also dispatched Oliveira, before drama unfolded for one of the Ducatis. Miller, at Turn 15, was down and out of the race from P2 on Lap 4, Bagnaia’s wingman was no longer able to help the Italian.

With 10 to go, Quartararo sliced his way past Rins for P6, with Aleix Espargaro next on El Diablo’s radar. And sure enough, with nine to go, Quartararo was ahead of the Aprilia RS-GP and now in P5. Baring a disaster from Oliveira, that was as good as it was going to get for Quartararo, with the KTM star eight seconds up the road. Or so we thought

17 seconds ahead of Quartararo, Bagnaia was holding up his end of the bargain. All Pecco could do on home soil was win, but he had an eight-time World Champion hanging onto his coattails. Pecco was looking incredibly strong, starting to pull clear of Marc Marquez, before Lap 23 of the Emilia-Romagna GP became the title-deciding lap of 2021. Turn 15, where Miller crashed earlier in the race, saw Bagnaia crash unhurt. Straight back up on his feet, Pecco knew. Ducati knew. Yamaha knew. Quartararo knew. A new MotoGP™ World Champion was about to be crowned.

The chequered flag came out and Marc Marquez won his second race in a row, his third of the season, with Pol Espargaro coming home second to hand Repsol Honda a fantastic 1-2. Bastianini, with a move at Turn 14, got the better of Quartararo on the last lap to cement another wonderful rostrum to take the lead in the Rookie of the Year fight, but just behind, introducing the 2021 MotoGP™ World Champion: Fabio Quartararo! Jubilation ensued for the Frenchman and Yamaha – what a phenomenal season for all involved.

Johann Zarco crossed the line in fifth to beat sixth place Rins by 1.2s, with Aleix Espargaro taking P7. Michele Pirro, Andrea Dovizioso, Morbidelli and Takaaki Nakagami – despite a crash – were the final points scorers at Misano.

Top 10:
1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team)
2. Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) + 4.859
3. Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama) + 12.013
4. Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 12.775
5. Johann Zarco (Pramac Racing) + 16.458
6. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 17.669
7. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) + 18.468
8. Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) + 18.607
9. Luca Marini (SKY VR46 Avintia) + 25.417
10. Valentino Rossi (Petronas Yamaha SRT) + 27.735


Title twist: Lowes victorious, Raul Fernandez crashes

Polesitter Lowes grabbed the holeshot with Canet making a good start to earn P2 ahead of Augusto Fernandez, with Raul Fernandez and Gardner P7 and P12 respectively at the end of the first lap. A late lunge from Canet on race leader Jorge Navarro at the tight Turn 14 right-hander allowed Lowes to retake the lead, while also gifting Raul Fernandez P3. The latter was then up to P2 on Lap 6, and with Gardner P8, as things stood Raul Fernandez would take the World Championship lead – a long way to go though, of course.

Meanwhile, Raul Fernandez was swarming Lowes’ rear wheel. And by Lap 11 of 25, Lowes, Raul Fernandez and Canet were 1.3s clear of fourth place Navarro, as Augusto Fernandez passed Gardner – the Australian back down to P8. Heading down into Turn 8, Raul Fernandez lost the front so, so early. The Spaniard was down and out of the race after a rapid crash, thankfully the number 25 was up on his feet.

It was now Lowes vs Canet for victory. Lowes ran wide at Turn 8 to allow the Spaniard through into the lead, and another rear-end moment for the number 22 allowed Canet to hold a 0.6s advantage with five laps to go. However, with four laps to go, Lowes was back in P1. Augusto Fernandez was up to third after his Long Lap Penalty, the Spaniard passing a brightly coloured Celestino Vietti.

Up front, no mistake was made in the closing stages by Lowes who took the chequered flag first to win, with Augusto Fernandez producing a stunning comeback ride to pick off Canet on the run to the line – handing MarcVDS their first 1-2 since 2017. Canet was disappointed with P3, but it’s a fourth podium of the season for the Spaniard.

Manzi had a quiet but solid ride to P6 at his home track, the Italian finished nine seconds up the road from Championship leader Gardner.

Top 10:
1. Sam Lowes (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team)
2. Augusto Fernandez (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) + 1.233
3. Aron Canet (Aspar Team Moto2) + 1.400 + 6.824
4. Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 2.554
5. Jorge Navarro (+EGO Speed Up) + 4.243
6. Stefano Manzi (Flexbox HP40) + 5.198
7. Remy Gardner (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 14.261
8. Fabio Di Giannantonio (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) + 15.868
9. Ai Ogura (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) + 18.905
10. Marcos Ramirez (American Racing) + 19.069


14th to 1st: Foggia wins as title scrap heads to Portimao

Dominant polesitter Antonelli launched away from the line perfectly as Izan Guevara slotted into P2, with Acosta losing a couple of positions from 5th to 7th. Further back, Foggia also slipped a couple of positions from 14th to 16th on Lap 1, but the Italian was back up to P14 at the end of the second lap.

Foggia was 12th on Lap 6, three seconds adrift of P1, but P12 no matter what happens with Acosta would take the title chase to Portimao. A lap later, Foggia was up to P10 and was at the spearhead of the second group, now the Leopard man had 1.3s to bridge to get on terms with the lead pack.

Lap 15 – Foggia led. The pocket rocket had picked his way through the pack expertly and grabbed P1 from Masia, a top four of Foggia, Masia, Guevara and Darryn Binder had formed,

Turn 8, on Lap 18, saw Guevara slide down the road unhurt – handing Acosta P5. A mistake from Nepa out of the final corner gave Acosta a chance of grabbing P4, which the number 37 took with open arms, but 2.3s was the gap between the title leader and his main rival. Acosta needed teammate Masia to do him a favour. And with three to go, it was Foggia vs Masia for victory – as Nepa passed Acosta again.

And so it was: last lap, Foggia vs Masia. Masia wasn’t close enough through Sector 1 and neither down into Turn 8. At said corner, Acosta grabbed a crucial P3 to get ahead of Binder and Nepa, with Foggia absolutely nailing the last lap. The Italian made no mistake to set his fastest lap of the race on the final lap, an absolutely astonishing ride from the number 7, as Acosta held onto a podium in P3.

Masia rode brilliantly to pick up his first rostrum since the Italian GP, one place ahead of teammate Acosta, as Red Bull KTM Ajo clinch the Moto3™ Team Championship. Meanwhile, Andi Izdihar pick up the final points on offer at Misano.

Top 10:
1. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing)
2. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.292
3. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 4.686
4. Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 4.797
5. Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) + 4.853
6. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) + 5.052
7. Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) + 5.335
8. Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 6.642
9. Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing) + 6.736
10.Filip Salac (CarXpert PrüstelGP) + 6.800